HFES_514805-20_ErgoXBanner_Update_1570x2

Student Career and Professional Development Day

Hosted by Farzan Sasangohar and Logan Clark, Student Affairs Committee Chairs

Student Career and Professional Development Day at the HFES Annual Meeting provides an opportunity for students to focus on career preparation, job seeking, and transition. The day will be packed with helpful information and activities targeted at today’s students and tomorrow’s HF/E professionals.

 

The program will be followed by a Student Reception (see details in the schedule below), which has a separate registration. Please click here to register for the reception.    

Friday, October 2, 2020

All times indicated in Pacific and Eastern Time Zones

8:00 AM PDT 

11:00 AM EDT

Human Factors in Practice: Past and Future Directions

Chair: Farzan Sasangohar, Texas A&M University

Panelists: Nancy Cooke (Arizona State University), Kermit Davis (University of Cincinnati), Robert Proctor (Purdue university)

In this session, the panelists (including two past presidents of HFES) will discuss how the field of HF/E has evolved over time and share their vision for the future and applications of HF/E in the post-COVID era.  

9:00 AM PDT 

12:00 PM EDT

Break | HFE Resume/CV Clinic​​

9:30 AM PDT 

12:30 PM EDT

Job-Seeking and Preparing for a Career in Human Factors

Chair: Teerachart Soratana

Co-Chair: Kamolnat Tabattanon, University of Michigan

Panelists: Jackie Cha (Clemson University), Patricia DeLucia (Rice University), Jessica Tran (Microsoft), Valerie Byxbe (Rockwell Collins)

This session aims to provide students with guidance and suggestions on preparing for a career in Human Factors and Ergonomics. Panelists from academia and industry will share their experience and insights related to the academic and industrial job-seeking process.

10:30 AM PDT 

1:30 PM EDT

Break | HFE Writing Clinic

12:00 PM PDT 

2:00 PM EDT

Transitioning from Student to Professional

Chair: Nade Liang, Purdue University

 

Panelists: Isis Chong (Amgen), Jordan Hill (Indiana University), Katherina Jurewicz (Oklahoma State University), Dustin Sounders (Clemson University)

Making the transition from student to professional can be challenging! In this interactive session, early-career panelists from both academia and industry will discuss their transitions and provide hands-on strategies to facilitate this paradigm shift.

12:00 PM PDT 

3:00 PM EDT

Break | Mindfulness/Relaxation Clinic

12:30 PM PDT 

3:30 PM EDT

Student Reception

This year's reception includes a town hall with past, present, and future presidents of HFES (Panelists: Drs. Susan Hallbeck, Peter Hancock, Christopher Reid), Student Member with Honors and Student Chapter Awards, and a speed networking session with HFES leadership, as well as academic and industry professionals (Chair: Karanvir Panesar; Co-Chair: Na Du).   

Click here to register.

 HFES 2020 Annual Conference and ErgoX 

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Tel. + 1 (202) 367-1114  |  Email:  Info@hfes.org

  • HFES Twitter
  • HFES Facebook Page
  • HFES LinkedIn
  • HFES YouTube Channel