HFES_514805-20_ErgoXBanner_Update_1570x2

Robotics

All times indicated in Pacific and Eastern Time Zones

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

 

7:10 AM PDT 

10:10 AM EDT

Welcome and Opening Remarks

Hongwei Hsiao, Jeremy Marvel, Robert Radwin, and Christopher Reid

7:25 AM PDT 

10:25 AM EDT

Keynote Address: Robotics Research and the Future of Work

Jordan Berg, National Science Foundation

8:00 AM PDT 

11:00 AM EDT

Research Section 1: Human-Robot Communication

Moderator: Ranjana Mehta, Texas A&M University

Operator Fatigue and Trust in Collaborative Robotics: A Neuroergonomics Perspective

Ranjana Mehta, Texas A&M University

Making Co-Robots Effectively Learn Their Optimal Behavioral Strategy while Interacting with Human Workers

Chang Nam, North Carolina State University

Human Perception and Beheaviors During Human-Robot Communication: Importance and Research Needs

HeeSun Choi, Texas Tech University

8:20 AM PDT 

11:20 AM EDT

8:40 AM PDT 

11:40 AM EDT

9:00 AM PDT 

12:00 PM EDT

Break

10:00 AM PDT 

1:00 PM EDT

Exhibitor Session

11:00 AM PDT 

2:00 PM EDT

11:20 AM PDT 

2:20 PM EDT

11:40 AM PDT 

2:40 PM EDT

Research Section 2: Robotics Safety

Moderator: Robert Radwin, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Considerations for the Integration of People and Automation in Manufacturing Processes

Peregrin Spielholz, The Boeing Company

Human-Robot Collaboration in Manufacturing for Reducing Operator Strain and Enhancing Productivity

Robert Radwin, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Modeling Trust Dynamics in Human-Anatomy Teaming

Jessie Yang, University of Michigan

12:00 PM PDT 

3:00 PM EDT

Break

12:30 PM PDT 

3:30 PM EDT

12:45 PM PDT 

3:45 PM EDT

1:00 PM PDT 

4:00 PM EDT

1:15 PM PDT 

4:15 PM EDT

1:30 PM PDT 

4:30 PM EDT

Partnership Opportunities 

Moderator: Dawn Castillo, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

NIOSH Center for Occupational Robotics Research (NIOSH CORR)

Dawn Castillo

Robotics Industries Association (RIA)

Carole Franklin

Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing Institute (ARM)

Cara Mazzarini

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Jeremy Marvel

Group Discussion

1:45 PM PDT 

4:45 PM EDT

Closing Remarks

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

 

7:10 AM PDT 

10:10 AM EDT

Opening Remarks

Hongwei Hsiao, Jeremy Marvel, Robert Radwin, and Christopher Reid

7:25 AM PDT 

10:25 AM EDT

Keynote Address: Bringing a Human Factors Perspective to Emerging Intelligent Autonomy Technologies

Marc Steinberg, Office of Naval Research

8:00 AM PDT 

11:00 AM EDT

Research Section 3: Simulation and Methods

Moderator: Jeremy Marvel, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Designing Intuitive Interfaces for Human-Robot Collaboration

Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Immersive Interface Metrology for Human-Robot Interface

Shelly Bagchi and Megan Zimmerman, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Robots at the COVID-19 Time - Case Studies

Joe Campbell, Universal Robots

8:20 AM PDT 

11:20 AM EDT

8:40 AM PDT 

11:40 AM EDT

9:00 AM PDT 

12:00 PM EDT

Break

10:00 AM PDT 

1:00 PM EDT

Exhibitor Session

11:00 AM PDT 

2:00 PM EDT

11:20 AM PDT 

2:20 AM EDT

8:40 PM PDT 

11:40 AM EDT

Research Section 4: Emerging Applications

Moderator: Thenkurussi "Kesh" Kesavadas, University of Illinois at Urbana

Medical Robotics: Challenges and Opportunities

Thenkurussi "Kesh" Kesavadas, University of Illinois at Urbana

UAS4Safety & Safety4UAS: Unmanned Aerials Systems and Construction Safety

Masoud Gheisari, University of Florida

Personal Collaborative Robots in Agriculture

Fadi Fathallah, University of California, Davis

12:00 PM PDT 

3:00 PM EDT

Break

12:30 PM PDT 

3:30 PM EDT

12:45 PM PDT 

3:45 PM EDT

1:00 PM PDT 

4:00 PM EDT

1:15 PM PDT 

4:15 AM EDT

1:30 PM PDT 

4:30 PM EDT

Closing Panel Discussion: Challenges and Priorities for Human-Centered Robotics

Moderators: Hongwei Hsiao, Jeremy Marvel, and Robert Radwin

Challenges and Priorities for Medical Robots

Russell Taylor, Johns Hopkins University

Why and How Human-Robot Interaction Breaks Down: Priorities for Creating Human-Center Robotics

Nadine Sarter, University of Michigan 

Enabling Robots to Interact Cooperatively and Safely with Humans

Oussama Khatib, Stanford University

Panel Discussion

Survey for Future Topics

1:45 PM PDT 

4:45 PM EDT

Closing Remarks

 HFES 2020 Annual Conference and ErgoX 

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Tel. + 1 (202) 367-1114  |  Email:  Info@hfes.org

  • HFES Twitter
  • HFES Facebook Page
  • HFES LinkedIn
  • HFES YouTube Channel