HFES_514805-20_ErgoXBanner_Update_1570x2

Cybersecurity

All times indicated in Pacific and Eastern Time Zones

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

 

9:30 AM PDT 

12:30 PM EDT

Welcome and Introduction

Dr. Robert Gutzwiller, HFES Cyber Security Technical Group Chair, Arizona State University

9:40 AM PDT 

12:40 PM EDT

Keynote Address

Dr. Josiah Dykstra, Technical Fellow, Cybersecurity Collaboration Center, National Security Agency

Dr. Josiah Dykstra is a Technical Fellow and member of the Senior Executive Service in the Cybersecurity Collaboration Center at the National Security Agency (NSA). He holds a Ph.D. in computer science and previously served at NSA as a cyber operator and researcher. Dr. Dykstra is interested in cybersecurity science, especially where humans intersect with technology. He has published and spoken at Black Hat about his research on cognitive stress in tactical cyber operations. In 2017, Dr. Dykstra received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) from former President Barack Obama. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and a Lifetime Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). He is the author of numerous research papers and one book, Essential Cybersecurity Science.

10:30 AM PDT 

1:30 PM EDT

Panel Discussion: The Human Factors Surrounding Trust & Deception in Cybersecurity

Dr. Josiah Dykstra, National Security Agency

Dr. Dana LaFon, National Security Agency

Dr. Neil Rowe, U.S. Naval Postgraduate School

Dr. Kim Ferguson-Walter, National Security Agency

Dr. Daniel Ragsdale, Department of Defense

Rob Black, Defence Academy of the United Kingdom

Human decision-making is often considered a weakness in cyber, with humans regarded as a type of vulnerability and a common cause of security incidents. However, this is a limited perspective. Panelists will discuss concepts of trust and deception, and how they play a role in human decision making in cyber security. Panelists will also help characterize those concepts in the context of blue team and red team behaviors, from a variety of perspectives (academia, government, and industry).

12:30 PM PDT 

3:30 PM EDT

Break

1:00 PM PDT 

4:00 PM EDT

Group Workshop Activities

Workshop sessions during this event are intended to allow the attendees, panelists, and organizers to tackle the hard problems. Sessions will be led by the chair and will request input and discussion toward advancing the science and HFE inputs into 2-3 key ideas. Groups may generate collaborative documents or idea boards and then return after the breakout to present them to the larger group. These may result in initial products and white papers.

2:30 PM PDT 

5:30 PM EDT

Reconvene for Outbriefs, Next Steps, and Wrap Up

3:00 PM PDT 

6:00 PM EDT

Open Social, Breakout Rooms

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

 

9:30 AM PDT 

12:30 PM EDT

Welcome and Introduction

Dr. Robert Gutzwiller, HFES Cyber Security Technical Group Chair, Arizona State University

9:35 AM PDT 

12:35 PM EDT

Brief

Dr. Dick Steinberg, Senior Principal Human Systems Engineer, Raytheon Technologies (RTX), Intelligence and Space (RI&S)

Dr. Dick Steinberg has 35 years’ experience in design of Command and Control (C2) displays and architectures integrating technology and humans. Since 2012, he has served as a senior principal engineering scientist at Raytheon Technologies (RTX) developing products in Space and Defense Command and Control and Cyber Monitoring. He designed decision aides using machine learning for cyber anomaly Detection for tactical systems, implemented crew designs, human performance and workload modeling, usability testing for Space Satellite, Missile Defense, and Cyber Dashboard C2 Displays. Prior to working at RTX, Dick was a Human Systems Integration Chief Engineer at Northrop Grumman. He has also been recognized with several company innovation awards and a patent in UX/HFE technologies and Cyber protection and resiliency. But, what makes him most qualified to be a keynote speaker is that he tutors 2nd graders in math at a local elementary school. If he can convince a 2nd grader to be interested in math, he should certainly entertain us on the role of humans in cyber command and control.

10:30 AM PDT 

1:30 PM EDT

Panel Discussion: Lies, Pseudoscience, & Hype in the Cybersecurity of Human Factors

Dr. Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Margaret Cunningham, Forcepoint

Sunny Fugate, Naval Information Warfare Center

Dr. Jono Spring, Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Dick Steinberg, Raytheon Technologies

Cybersecurity affects all of us and the public is starting to recognize the need for solutions. But with more demand comes more marketing, pseudoscience, and even lies about the problems, challenges, and solutions. Panelists will discuss what they perceive to be the most impactful misconceptions within their research, among their customers, in various security sectors, in organizations, and among the general public. The focus will then turn to generating strategies, practices, and research ideas toward leveraging good human factors to combat the problems.

12:00 PM PDT 

3:00 PM EDT

Break

Group Workshop Activities

Workshop sessions during this event are intended to allow the attendees, panelists, and organizers to tackle the hard problems. Sessions will be led by the chair and will request input and discussion toward advancing the science and HFE inputs into 2-3 key ideas. Groups may generate collaborative documents or idea boards and then return after the breakout to present them to the larger group. These may result in initial products and white papers.

12:30 PM PDT 

3:30 PM EDT

2:00 PM PDT 

5:00 PM EDT

Reconvene for Outbriefs, Next Steps, and Wrap Up

2:30 PM PDT 

5:30 PM EDT

Open Social, Breakout Rooms

 HFES 2020 Annual Conference and ErgoX 

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

Tel. + 1 (202) 367-1114  |  Email:  Info@hfes.org

  • HFES Twitter
  • HFES Facebook Page
  • HFES LinkedIn
  • HFES YouTube Channel